Mauldin Miracle League has Really Changed the Way I Think

Ali having her baseball pose to perfection.

Ali having her baseball pose to perfection.

I have only been volunteering with Mauldin Miracle League which is a special needs baseball team that I help with every Saturday during the spring and the fall. Usually Saturdays teens sleep in but I don’t. I get up and go spend my whole morning with kids that are so dear to my heart. Special Needs kids are kids that have the same gifts as we do but a little differently.

Last Saturday I got handed the team roster of one of the teams I took it to the coach that was ahead of the team. She asked me since you have been here for most of the Saturdays would you like to be my co-coach for the season. I said “I would love to”. Then I just walked away after the game was over and I was like God you have really showed me who you are really want me to be involved with and I appreciate that.

This past Saturday I was playing with these 4 kids while they were in the line to bat. But every Saturday feels like a mini mission trip because I serve them with everything I got. This one girl has barely talked to me and this past Saturday she opened up to me. Her name is Ali and she is about 2 to 4 years old. It almost broke my heart because she is like “carry me” then in my mind I was thinking maybe at home she is normally not held. For like an hour I chased her around hearing her laugh and smile made me fall more in love with this amazing organization that Mauldin has provided for these kids.

This verse that reminds me to serve one another in your community and around the world is Galatians 5:13 which says “Through love serve one another.” By serving others you can show the love God has done for you.

About bpatte29

My hobbies are drawing, playing basketball and serving in my community. I volunteer with a special needs baseball team and at my church.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

